One Of The Most Important Things I have Learned Part 1

As the title states, I want to talk about one of the most important things I have learned on this journey to health. I am not sure if I have learned this or not, but this question bounces around in my head from time to time. The question is this; what is more important, the amount of calories or amount of nutrition? We all know that it is easy to get enough, and often times too many calories, but what is the nutritional value of what we are eating. The picture below is an example of nutrient dense foods; none of these are high calorie, but if you look at the nutritional value, they are out of this world!

IMG_0574

If you cannot make out what is in the fridge I will list it for you; spinach, carrots, pineapple, kale, red and green apples, celery and cucumber, When you look at this picture you can tell that there is a bunch of it, enough to overflow my full size refrigerator. Right now you might be thinking that I was going to eat all of this food, and in a way I was, but in other ways, I was not. I have another question for you; how long do you think this food will last, a week or two? The answer for this question is maybe three days. You might be thinking to yourself how in the world will that only last three days! For some of you that might be more vegetables than you have eaten in your entire life, for others this may look normal.

This is why all of that nutrient dense food will only last three or for days.

IMG_0577

All of those fruits and vegetables are going to be consumed, but not in a solid form. What you are seeing in the above picture is a large portion of the food broken down in a juicer to become a super fueled liquid version of what it use to be. You are probably thinking to yourself, that looks disgusting; the truth, it is amazing. This liquid gold is amazing for a few reasons. The first reason this juice is so amazing is because it is so nutrient dense. That one glass of juice is probably more nutrition than most normal people get in a day. If you were to drink two or three of these a day you would be super charging you immune system and cleansing out all of the toxins you have been consuming. The second reason this juice is amazing is because if contains more than you could eat in a day.

IMG_0576

This picture above shows how much nutrient dense food goes into one or two servings of juice. This is just breakfast and there is no way that anyone could eat this much food  four times a day. It is pretty easy to drink four times that amount of food, but I could never eat it. When looking at this picture you might notice that while there is a lot of food, there are not a lot of calories. This is why I posed the question at the beginning. Are calories or nutrition more important? My feeling is that nutrition is the more important than the amount of calories you consume and this is why. 90 to 95 percent of the food most people eat contains little to no nutritional value.

A fried piece of mystery chicken might have a little protein, but the majority is processed oil, flour and filler preservatives. If you were to trace back the origin of the fried piece of chicken you would probably be surprised by its origins and the amount of nutrition in it. When you look at the calorie breakdown it might look something like this: 110 calories, 5.2g fat, 1 saturated fat, 16g cholesterol, 234mg sodium, 8.4g carbs and 7.2g protein. That is for just one small chicken strip, that might be three bites of food. So, what about a pineapple? You could eat 1/4 of a fresh pineapple and get the same amount of calories: 113 calories, .2g fat, 2.2mg sodium, 246.5mg potassium, 29.8g carbs, 3.2g fiber, 22.2g sugar, 1.2g protein but then, 131.2% vitamin A, 108.2% vitamin C, 29.5% Calcium and .8% iron. That sure looks a lot better than the piece of chicken, and the pineapple would be about 15 bites of food. If you do not like pineapple then maybe watermelon would work for you, 2.5 cups of watermelon has: 115 calories, .5g fat, 12mg potassium, 27.5g carbs, 1.5g fiber, 2.5g protein, 25g sugar plus 43% vitamin A, 2% calcium, 52% vitamin C 5% iron, 10% vitamin b-6 and 9% magnesium. To me these two options sound a lot better than a fried chicken strip. You can see how much more nutrient value whole food has then processed food.

So how did I find out about juicing? I watched a documentary. In fact, I have found out a lot of my health knowledge from watching documentaries and researching information about health and wellness. The documentary I watch was called Fat Sick and Nearly Dead, I would recommend all of you to watch this; you can find it on Netflix and probably online. This documentary documents what juicing is and how It changed the lives of many people, bringing them from near death to a full health. In fact, on Netflix there are many documentaries that deal with health and the food industry; I would recommend that you watch them all and do research based on what you see. You never know what you will learn and how it might change your life.

There is so much more to come on this topic, but I want to discuss this in a few parts. There is no way I could cram it all into one post, so more parts to come!

When you finish reading this here are a few things you might want to check out in the coming weeks.

2 comments

  1. Eric Busby · November 13, 2014

    With regards to juicing, is this a periodic 10-or-so day fast that you stick to each month or is it/was it all that you would do for your daily food intake at the outset of your journey?
    Julian and I have discussed it at great length, as I have watched a great majority of the documentaries that you listed while Nick, Joe, Chase, and I were living in Walnut Ridge. However, when Jillian and I worked out our budget, it was such an exorbitant amount of money to substitute juicing for a couple of weeks in a month.
    Also, what are some of your thoughts with eliminating other extraneous things to fit juicing in.

    Like

    • asmith5313 · November 13, 2014

      For me, I never did too long of a juice fast. Doing a fast for a week or 10 days would be a good length of time (days 3-4 are the worst). Not to say that I did not try, I just was not good at sticking to the fast. I believe they recommend doing 2 to 4 juice fasts a year in order to flush out the junk built up from the food we eat, but I did it a little different. I would usually make me a huge glass and drink it first thing in the morning, then the rest of my day try to make good food choices, usually oatmeal, fruits, vegetables, some pasta and some meats; I did that for months. That was one of the ways I cut down on the cost. To do the juicing correctly it cost like 30 or 40 dollars a day, which is pretty crazy. So if you just juice one time a day, whenever is best for you, then you are still getting a nutrient boost and doing you body well, but you are also saving money since you are not juicing for every meal.

      Both my wife and I agree that we were ok with spending money on healthy food because it was just that, healthy. A way you can think about it is this; would you rather have to pay a doctor when you get sick, or pay for good food and never see a doctor. I have not had to visit a doctor or had any sort of illness (cold, congestion, flu) or any injuries since I changed my diet to juice and whole foods. It has been one and a half years and during that time I have logged hours of running and cycling, all without illness or injury, something that is very hard to do. My answer in short would be this; give it a try. Take one week and decide to try juicing, if you find benefits then it will be worth it, but if you find no benefits then do not do it again. I personally would and still do cut out extraneous things such as some foods. I also decided that the benefit of a healthy whole foods diet out weighed the costs associated with a processed one. Hope that is helpful, if you need anything else, do not hesitate to ask!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

